ICC Announces the Greatest ODI team of all time

To mark the 40th anniversary of One-Day International (ODI) cricket, the ICC’s official website had called on supporters from across the globe to select their choice of the greatest ODI team of all-time.

Supporters had a chance to select the dream team from a shortlist of 48 players in different categories. The fans had between 22 December 2010 and 2 January 2011 to to make their selections on ICC’s official website or via Facebook or Twitter.

In total, fans from 97 countries cast almost 600,000 votes on www.icc-cricket.com between 22 December and 2 January to make their views known as to who have been the best ODI players of the past 40 years in the key categories of opening batsmen, middle-order batsmen, wicketkeeper, spin bowlers and fast bowlers.

Three players from Australia and India, two from the West Indies and one each from South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan have made the final dream XI with another Aussie named as 12th man.

The All-Time ODI Dream Team (as voted for by visitors to www.icc-cricket.com) is:

Opening batsmen: Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag (both Ind)

Middle order: Brian Lara, Viv Richards (both WI) and Ricky Ponting (Aus)

All-rounder: Kapil Dev (Ind)

Wicketkeeper: Adam Gilchrist (Aus)

Spinner: Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)

Fast bowlers: Wasim Akram (Pak), Glenn McGrath (Aus) and Allan Donald (SA)

12th man: Michael Bevan (Aus, the player who received the most number of votes without being enough to make the would-be starting XI).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.