India wins Cricket World Cup 2011

Twenty-eight years on from the match that transformed the history of world cricket, India recaptured the crown that Kapil Dev and his men first lifted at Lord’s in 1983, and this time they did in their very own back yard.

An iron-willed 97 from Gautam Gambhir was matched for intensity by the finest captain’s innings since Ricky Ponting at Johannesburg eight years ago, as Mahendra Singh Dhoni trumped a poetic century from Mahela Jayawardene to pull off the highest run-chase ever achieved in a World Cup final.

Best of World Cup 2011

Champions – India

Runners up – Sri Lanka

Man of the Finals – MS Dhoni (India)

Man of the Series –  Yuvraj Singh (India)

Most Runs – TM Dilshan (SL)

Most wickets – Shahid Afridi (Pak)

Most dismissals – KC Sangakkara (SL)

Most catches – DPMD Jayawardene (SL)

Highest Batting average – KC Sangakkara (SL)

Highest partnership – WU Tharanga, TM Dilshan (SL)


2 thoughts on “India wins Cricket World Cup 2011

  1. Pingback:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.