Dead ball run-out error in England’s World Cup group match against Australia

The ICC has confirmed that the decision to rule James Anderson as run-out on the final ball of England’s 111-run Cricket World Cup defeat to Australia was an error.

As England headed for the heavy loss, James Taylor was given out lbw by umpire Aleem Dar. The two England batsmen attempted a run before his finger was raised but Glenn Maxwell, fielding at point, threw down the stumps with Anderson short of his ground.

Taylor referred his dismissal to the DRS, which was overturned, but the on-field umpires then asked for the run-out to be considered, and Anderson was ruled out. However, the playing conditions in relation to the DRS state that the ball should have been declared dead as soon as Dar’s finger was raised, which occured before Maxwell released the ball, therefore he should not have been given out. Thus Taylor, who ended the innings stranded on 98 not out, was denied the chance of a century at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The ICC released a statement after the game that read: “Following Australia’s 111-run victory over England in the Group A ICC Cricket World Cup clash at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday night, the Playing Control Team (PCT) met and reviewed the final ball of the game which resulted in James Anderson being given run out.

“Article 3.6a of Appendix 6 of the Decision Review System (DRS) Playing Conditions states that the ball should have been deemed dead when the batsman (James Taylor) was given out leg before wicket (lbw). No further runs or dismissals were possible. The PCT spoke to the England team management and acknowledges that the game ended incorrectly and an error was made.”

Standard One Day International Match playing conditions (Revision: Final OCT 2014)

Decision Review System (DRS) – Playing Conditions


3.6 Dead ball

a) If following a Player Review request, an original decision of ‘Out’ is changed to ‘Not Out’, then the ball is still deemed to have become dead when the original decision was made (as per Law 23.1(a)(iii)). The batting side, while benefiting from the reversal of the dismissal, will not benefit from any runs that may subsequently have accrued from the delivery had the on-field umpire originally made a ‘Not Out’ decision, other than any No Balls penalty that could arise under 3.3 (g) above.

b) If an original decision of ‘Not Out’ is changed to ‘Out’, the ball will retrospectively be deemed to have become dead from the moment of the dismissal event. All subsequent events, including any runs scored, are ignored.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.