Murali to say bye in 2010

13142murlitharan

Sri Lankan ace off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan said that he would retire from Test cricket next year. He said that the upcoming two-Test home series against West Indies in November 2010 would be his last.

Muralitharan is the highest wicket-taker in Tests with 770 wickets in 127 Tests. He said that he would focus on playing one-day cricket until the 2011 World Cup and will then stick to Twenty20 cricket.

Speaking at the end of the first ODI against Pakistan, 37 year old Murali said that he would not be playing for a long time. “West Indies series will be the last two Test matches I will be playing,” Muralitharan said. “That’s the right time for me because I will be 38 years old. The 2011 World Cup is my aim, but I will enjoy playing Twenty20 cricket for a few more years” he said.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.